June Foodie Pen Pal

Foodie Pen Pal was so much fun! Especially for someone who is a dedicated letter-writer and mailbox stalker like me. I love sending mail (almost as much as receiving it) and have an embarassingly large collection of stationary. I am also still in touch with my childhood pen pal, we started writing to each other at 12 years old. But I digress…

This was my first month participating in Foodie Pen Pal – a program set up for bloggers and readers by Lindsay at The Lean Green Bean. It’s a fun program where you are matched up with another Foodie (either a blogger or a reader) and you put together a box of treats for them valued at $15. You also include a note or recipe.

I was thrilled to receive a box from Tracey in Manitoba. It was filled with delicious local goodies. Tracey wrote me a lovely letter about a seasonal business in Manitoba called Crampton’s Market. Crampton’s sells local products along with fresh produce – check of some of the recipes from Crampton’s Market here.

Contents of the box:

The Buck Shots I ate right away, as once my inner snacking monster laid eyes on them, they were goners. I loved both the BBQ and the Dill pickle flavour and was really intrigued by the nuttiness and crunchiness of the buckwheat. Be warned, they are pretty addictive.

JD and I polished off the corn chips this week. I have to say, these were some of the lightest corn chips I have ever had. They were delicious and held up surprisingly well after having been shipped across the country.

JD was so excited when I told him about the jam and honey. I said I would make biscuits some morning so we could sample and he said “Can that day be TODAY?!”

I made some baking powder biscuits this morning and they were the perfect vehicle for honey and jam. Saskatoon berry reminds me of blueberry a little bit, and it was a real treat for us. The honey was terrific – really creamy and lovely and not at all overpowering.

I have big plans for this jam – I might have to hide it from JD. There is a pork tenderloin in my freezer that wants to get better acquainted with it!

Warm biscuits with honey, butter, and jam with cups of hot coffee made for a really terrific breakfast to kick off the weekend. Highly recommended when you want something that feels special but don’t want to spend a lot of time preparing it in the kitchen. Plus everything slathered in honey is good, right?

Baking Power Biscuits

2 cups all purpose flour

5 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

1/4 cup butter, softened to room temperature

3/4 cup milk

1. Preheat oven to 450.

2. In a large bowl, mix together flour, baking powder, and salt. Add butter and blend with your hands until mixture resembles cornmeal and does not have any large lumps of butter remaining.

3. Slowly add milk and mix until you form a ball (I did this mostly with my hands).

4. Pat or roll out dough to 1/2 inch on a floured surface. Using a biscuit cutter or a drinking glass, cut out biscuits. Do not twist the glasses (press straight down, pull straight up) or the biscuits will not rise properly.

5. Bake in preheated oven for 12 minutes. Serve warm with butter, jam, and honey.

Thank you so much for the very thoughtful goodies, Tracey! It was a real treat…
P.s. JD and I are traveling next month so I will miss foodie pen pal – hope to do it again in August.

Leave a Reply

