Hot Lobster Dip

Oh, hello. I didn’t see you there. Please allow me to set down my champagne and diamonds so I may tell you all about the hot lobster dip we just enjoyed. You simply must try it, darling.

The secret to why we were eating lobster dip on a Monday night is this: I bought the lobster (canned, frozen, and of excellent quality) at Costco for $14.99. A small price tag on a decadent pay off.

And let me tell you, this stuff is good. No, it isn’t exactly the same as fresh lobster – but then again, you don’t have to cook live lobsters and tear them apart, now do you? Plus, I consider myself something of a lifelong lobster connoisseur (LLC) so you can trust me. When I was growing up in Newfoundland, my parents had a cabin on the south side of  North Harbour – I kid you not – and they always seemed to have a friend who was a lobster fisherman who would supply us with fresh lobster. My dad always claimed that the colder the ocean, the sweeter the lobster meat and held the [possibly biased] opinion that Newfoundland lobster was the best. I have many fond memories of coming home from school and seeing my dad out on our back deck with a cooler and a kiddie pool filled with salt water and live lobsters. He would boil them on the back deck on a Coleman propane burner and then shell the lobsters for us so as not to bring the carnage into the house – what a gentleman, I know. He also loved to remind me that, at age 7 while riding in his truck, I announced “Daddy, lobsters couldn’t get any tastier if they tried!”

Historically (my dad also liked to remind us of this all the time), lobster was consider a poor man’s food and was generally considered by most as bottom feeders that were unfit to eat. Ah, how the times change.

This dip is rich but very delicious.

Cut your block of cream cheese into cubes

Add your melted garlic butter to the cream cheese

Add half a chopped onion, old bay seasoning, Worcestershire sauce, and sriracha sauce and mix well.

Thoroughly drain your lobster meat and chop roughly – look at those lobster knuckles and claws, yum!

Add lobster meat and shredded cheese and fold together gently until combined

Add mixture to a medium sized baking dish and bake for 30 minutes at 375 degrees or until hot and bubbly

Like so!

Get your “dippers” and go crazy! JD and I sure did…! Sweet yellow peppers, radishes, celery and rye toast.

Hot Lobster Dip

8oz block of cream cheese, softened

3 tbsp of butter melted with 2 cloves of minced garlic

1/2 a small onion, chopped

2 tsp Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp sriracha sauce or other hot sauce

1/2 tsp Old Bay seasoning

1/2 cup shredded extra old white cheddar

320g can of frozen lobster meat, thawed and drained

Cut cream cheese into cubes. Melt butter and garlic and allow to simmer for 30 seconds. Add melted garlic butter, onion, sriracha, Worcestershire sauce, and Old Bay seasoning and stir to thoroughly combine. Roughly chop your drained lobster meat and gently fold lobster and the shredded cheese into the mixture. Spread into an oven-proof dish and bake for 30 minutes at 375 until dip is browned on top and bubbling. Enjoy with veggies, toasted bread, crackers, tortilla, or a spoon.

10 thoughts on “Hot Lobster Dip

  1. You had me at Lobster. Boy does it look rich though! There is a lake here in Uganda that has freshwater lobsters. I want to see if I can find some and I will let you know how it goes. It looks amazing!

    • Believe it or not, it is not overly rich! It is not as thick as you’d think, I think maybe due to the large amount of lobster used. JD declared it “Not too creamy”!

  2. your intro paragraph is hilarious! please ask josh to get the kitchen and dining room done asap so you can have me over to formally sample all of the meals from each of your blogs… ASAP! ;)

  3. Kason and I saw the frozen lobster at Loblaws the other day, but we decided not to buy because it came out of a can…now we know! Looks delicious btw.

  4. I made this last night for a dinner party – it was a huge hit! I didn’t have enough lobster, so I did a lobster / shrimp blend and it was also fabulous! Thanks for the great recipe.

Leave a Reply

